• Uncategorized

key stages ages

key stages ages

Key Stage 2 (KS2)
Age 14–16. Y10–11. 4th–5th form secondary GCSEs

Key stages ages
Key Stage 1 (primary school Years 3 and 4) builds on Foundation Stage experiences, and Key Stage 2 (primary school Years 5, 6 and 7) builds on Key Stage 1 experiences. As children progress through these stages, they move from informal to more formal learning.
The Northern Ireland Curriculum aims to empower young people to achieve their potential and to make informed and responsible decisions throughout their lives. The learning opportunities provided should help young people to develop as individuals, contributors to society and contributors to the economy and environment.

Derby Virtual School works with children from foundation stage onwards. All transitions can be difficult for children in care, but the move from primary school to secondary school (from key stage 2 to key stage 3) can be especially daunting.
The Virtual School supports this transition and offers advice to schools about additional transition support for children in care.

Key Stage 1 comprises Year 1 (children aged 5-6) and Year 2 (children aged 6-7). We have a commitment to a broad and innovative curriculum encouraging active learning. A creative, forward-thinking and thematic approach aims to inspire and encourage our children and give them the ability to make connections, build confidence and develop their knowledge, skills and understanding. Our children enjoy a range of external trips and internal visitors that enrich the curriculum and bring it to life. Regular themed days and weeks are arranged to allow focus on a particular area or subject and to recognise or celebrate national and world events.

Our Cambridge Checkpoint series provides students with the framework for succeeding in the Cambridge Lower Secondary Checkpoint assessment and preparing them for success in future exams.
Cambridge University Press provides a wide range of different teaching resources for Key Stage 3 and Lower Secondary curriculums. With a variety of different learning techniques, including active learning, our resources are a great way to prepare students before they sit their Cambridge IGCSE®s, GCSEs and other examinations in the future. From core subjects like English, Maths and Science to our selection of different resources for learning languages, Cambridge University Press can help pupils get the most out of Lower Secondary and Key Stage 3.

Listed below is additional information regarding growth at different ages and stages of a child’s life.
Growth and development includes not only the physical changes that will occur from infancy to adolescence, but also some of the changes in emotions, personality, behavior, thinking and speech that children develop as they begin to understand and interact with the world around them.



You may also like...